Personal Injury

When you or someone in your family suffers a personal injury, the repercussions can be catastrophic. Your life may feel as though it's been put on hold while you put your resources into healing physically and mentally. If you're in this difficult situation because of someone else's negligence, then you need to seek our representation to get compensated for what you've lost.

Personal Injury and Negligence go Hand in Hand

Personal injury law is predicated on the idea that someone's careless action or inaction resulted in physical harm. They have been negligent, whether in a car or other vehicle or off the road anywhere else. As personal injury attorneys, we believe that, just as everyone has a responsibility to maintain safety for others, people also have a foundational right to be secure. We avidly hold people accountable for this negligence when they've caused harm. Examples of negligence may include but aren't limited to:

  • Car accidents caused by drunk drivers
  • Medical oversights resulting from a doctor's carelessness — otherwise known as medical malpractice
  • Animal or dog bites that happen when dangerous pets are allowed to roam unsupervised

If you think your injury is the result of someone else’s negligence, contact us immediately; the longer you wait may mean a difference in the outcome of your case.

Getting justice for your injury won’t take long with us

Reach Out Now

Personal Injury in Virginia

You should be aware of the personal injury laws specific to the state of Virginia, such as time limits for filing your lawsuit, a cap or limit to your damages, and the rule on shared fault.

  • Time limits for filing your lawsuit are limited to two years since the injury (in a standard case). Be aware that if filing against a city or town in Virginia, you need to file a claim within 6 months of the accident. If filing against a government entity, the claim must be filed within 12 months.
  • Damage caps aren’t in effect for standard personal injury cases, but they are capped at $2 million for medical malpractice; punitive damages are capped at $350,000.
  • Shared fault in Virginia must be considered since our state is one of few that still enforces the law of contributory negligence — that is, if you share even a small portion of the fault, you may not be entitled to compensation. Come to our office to find out more about whether the contributory negligence law applies to you.

As personal injury lawyers, we take it to heart when we see clients suffering needlessly, especially when their injuries are debilitating. We want to help you get the justice you deserve in as timely a manner as possible. It's our duty to uphold the law, and you shouldn't have to stress about your case for longer than necessary while you're in — or even past — recovery.

Virginia’s foremost personal injury and car accident attorneys

We are among Virginia’s most experienced attorneys in personal injuries, especially in relation to auto or car accidents You shouldn’t have to suffer the consequences of someone else’s negligence. Help us to uphold everyone’s right to safety, and get justice for yourself in the process. Contact our office today; sit down with us and get informed about your situation during your consultation.